On April 30, 1789, George Washington took the oath of office at Federal Hall in New York City to become the first President of the United States.  John Adams was elected as his Vice President.

Washington is the only United States President to have been elected with 100% of the Electoral College votes.  President Washington reluctantly agreed to serve a second term in office and was elected again by a 100% vote of the Electoral College.

After serving two terms, President George Washington refused to serve a third term.